Personal Peach Pie

L1030268

It has been a while since I have posted, and I want to apologize for that!! I actually have two other recipes I should be posting up before this, but I was too excited about these pies!! A few of you know that Todd and I went up to Sacramento two weeks ago to see my family before school started and to grab a few things from my dad’s house. I also got to see a great friend, her name is Chelsea! Chelsea and I understand each other, and it always makes me happy to see her. We just moved down from Sacramento at the beginning of July! Todd’s wonderful grandparents let us move in with them so we can finish school. We had to leave many things ay my dad’s house (thanks dad!) because we couldn’t fit everything into Todd’s xB. It was so nice to spend the day with my family! My mom cooked a wonderful dinner as always and my dad bought me some new tires for my bike! I didn’t get to see my second mom Lisa, (My actual mommy’s name is Lisa too! I MISS BOTH OF YOU!) so I’m sending some love from this blog post!

Anyway, besides going to Sacramento, I haven’t been posting because I have been trying to get everything for school situated. I start on tuesday! Eeek! I’m still on the wait-list for a few of my classes so I am hoping to get into them.

Enough about me… onto the PIES!

Summer and pie go hand in hand, especially peach pie. Oh I am so blessed to be living in California! The crops here are outstanding and plentiful! I have been trying to eat healthier, so I thought personal pies would be an adorable form of portion control. I am a sucker for tiny things anyway, so these personal pies were right up my alley!

I would suggest al a mode, that’s healthy right? 😉

Ingredients:
For the crust:
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 T sugar
1/4 tsp. salt
8 T cold, unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
3 T very cold water
(I actually doubled this and put half into the freezer in saran wrap, holds for ~2 months.)

For the filling:
2-3 ripe peaches (I used 4, saved about half to make peach shortcake soon!)
1/4 cup sugar
1 T flour
1 T cornstarch
Dash of grated nutmeg
~1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 T freshly squeezed lemon juice (optional)
2 T cold butter, cut into pieces (I actually forgot this, whoops! Still was amazing!)

Directions:
For the crust:

  • Combine the flour, sugar and salt in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment.
  • Mix briefly to blend.
  •  Add in the butter pieces and mix on medium-low speed to cut the butter into the flour until the mixture resembles coarse sand and the largest pieces are about dime size.
  • Mix in the cold water on low speed just until the dough comes together.
  • Shape the dough into a ball, wrap in plastic wrap & chill in the refrigerator for ~30 minutes.

For the filling:

  • Peel the peaches and slice them to ¼-inch thick slices.
  • In a large bowl, combine the peach slices with the sugar, flour, cornstarch, nutmeg, and cinnamon.
  • Mix in lemon juice.

(If your peaches are not quite ripe or are not peeling easily, you can score the bottom surface of each peach with an ‘X’. Pop them into boiling water for 30 seconds, remove with a skimmer, and immediately plunge into a bowl of ice water to stop the cooking. This should help make the peels come off more easily.)

To combine:

  • Preheat the oven to 350F.
  • Roll the chilled dough out on a lightly floured surface.
  • Oil a regular muffin tin, I only used four of the six muffin slots.
  • Cut the dough into four ~6 inch wide circles, and four ~5 inch wide circles.
  • Line inside of four of the muffin slots with the larger pieces.
  • Completely fill each prepared slot with the prepared peach filling.
  • Add the cut pieces of cold butter on top of the filling.
  • Cover the pies with the smaller pieces of dough.
  • Use a fork to mold the inner dough with the added top layer or dough. (Or decorate however you please! ^.^).
  • Cut an ‘X’ on the top so steam from the filling may release while cooking.

     

  • Bake for about 25-30 minutes.

ENJOY! ^.^

Yield: ~4 Personal pies.

Source: Annie’s Eats & ZoomYummy.

2 thoughts on “Personal Peach Pie

  1. Pingback: mary’s magnificent pastry – just in time for pie season! | gf and me

Leave a Reply

